Awards and Pastoral Celebration Evening

We were delighted to host our annual Awards and Pastoral Celebration Evening recently. The evening provides an opportunity to celebrate academic and pastoral achievements of students for the year 2018-19. College Awards were given to recognise the school’s SPIRIT values (Self-Regulation, Participation, Integrity, Resilient, Inspired and Tolerant); key qualities that we encourage in all our students. Academic and Subject Awards were also awarded to students from years 7–9.  These subject winners had been nominated out of over 700 students. Additionally, awards were given to our year 13 leavers.

Head of School, Mrs O’Neill, talked about the importance that such celebrations have  in helping to embed aspiration but also develop a culture of learning, kindness and respect. She said: “It was lovely to see so many students from years 7-11 recognised for all of their hard work last academic year and to celebrate their successes with their friends and families.  Students at Alsager benefit greatly from the hard work and support that they receive from all staff and from parents and carers”. Amongst the many SPIRIT award winners were George Cook and Rossi Turner for demonstrating resilience and Robert Brennan, who won the Inspired Award after battling a life-threatening illness at Christmas and returning to school fully embracing his learning. The four College Award winners were Fran Townsend, Olivia Warburton, Amy Robinson and James Baker

Guests of honour were Andrew Bennett, a member of Alsager School’s Governing Body, and former student and colleague Dr Gavin Hammond.

The evening also provided the opportunity to celebrate individual successes amongst sixth form students. This year the school was delighted to once again present the ‘Katy Wright Science Bursary’ which has been kindly donated by the Wright family in memory of their daughter Katy, a former student and subsequent teacher who unfortunately died from a rare form of cancer at an early age. In her memory, her parents wanted to recognise the achievement of an outstanding scientist from the sixth form, not only this year but also for years to come, hoping that it will inspire young people to pursue a career in Science or Maths. The award was presented to Zoe Reed, now studying Medicine at Oxford University.  Other sixth form winners were Daisy Sawdon, Tiffany Powell and Jakob Harper.

In addition to these awards, the evening provided the opportunity to celebrate the numerous national awards achieved by the school, such as the Diana Award for the work as anti-bullying ambassadors, the NHS Self Care Award and most recently the AcSeed Award, which recognises Alsager School as an Emotionally Healthy school.

Mr Middlebrook said: “Evenings such as this are a real highlight of the school year. It is always a pleasure and a privilege to celebrate our students’ achievements with their families. I would like to congratulate all our award winners and wish them every success for the future”.

Comments are closed.
Alsager School News
All the latest school news and announcements...
Latest Posts
Young Carers
Girls Rugby
Contact Alsager School
  • Hassall Road, Alsager, ST7 2HR
  • 01270 871100
Contact the Sixth form
  • Hassall Road, Alsager, ST7 2HR
  • 01270 871122